New Scott Pilgrim Trailer

So a lot of things have been happening since I last updated this blog. I put it on the backburner because things like school and… well pretty much just school, ended up kicking my ass, taking my lunch money, and telling me that I better never talk to the pretty cheerleaders again. But the blog has always been in the back of my mind. I’ve even broken it out a few times to talk about interesting news, but then decided that my humble opinions were not worthy of the interblags.  But now I have to show you something.

That, my friends, is the new Scott Pilgrim trailer.

When the first trailer came out I was more or less sold. I love Edgar Wright, and I knew the film had Bryan Lee O’Malley’s blessings and that he had even been on set to help out a little bit, giving the actors “secret information” on their characters that only they would know (which is awesome, by the way). I also know that O’Malley has been a big proponent of Michael Cera’s casting, and I took that to heart. I admit, I was one of the people severely worried that maybe Cera was a little /too/ meek for a character that I always saw as pretty kick-ass, if a little dense. But when O’Malley said not to worry, I tried not to worry. And the first trailer helped that. But this has sealed it.

Everything about this looks perfect so far. I love the comic book-esque onomatopoeia (Ding Dong and Bang), and I’m surprised at how natural it looks in the film medium. Along the same lines are the hearts that flutter about whenever Scott and Ramona kiss and the video game elements. I am so happy to see these in the movie and working so well. Things like bad guys bursting into pile of coins whenever they’re struck with a flaming sword. What more can you ask for in a movie?

And Michael Cera is definitely Scott Pilgrim. I know there are still some naysayers but I’m actually really confident about the choice now. Hearing Cera actually give a few more lines has cemented it. For me, he speaks them almost exactly how I heard them in my head. I am really excited now to see him play the part. And really I think all the castings were great, especially the Seven Evil Exes. Jason Schwartzman as Gideon is the best call I could have asked for.

The movie comes out in August, but not before the final volume which debuts July 20th. I am salivating.

Basically I’m really friggin’ excited and you should be too.
I’m gonna try to get more updates in once I get back to the States and we’ll see how that goes. Things I want to cover include The Kickass Comic, Mouse Guard, X-Men First Class, and whatever else I can get my dirty hands on. And expect an update on Super Mario Crossover in the next few weeks: I’m waiting for the update with Ryu Hayabusa.

(tell me that doesn’t look awesome.)

Leave a Reply

