Dollhouse, Comics, and Other Things. But Mostly Dollhouse

Well then, would you lookit that. Three updates in one week?! This is UNHEARD OF. Seems like someone’s trying to make up for lost time!

That someone is me.

I’m excited to start working on this blog again. I’m especially excited to start buying even more comics to write about– I do so very much love buying comics. I’m looking at some excellent new comics to talk about, I’ve got a lot of comics that I read over the semester to write about, it’s all very exciting. So the blog is back, updates will (hopefully) be more frequent, I have a lot of stuff I can’t wait to get into, yadda yadda yadda.

Now, onto business.

Joss Whedon's Dollhouse

Joss Whedon's Dollhouse


Raise your hand if you love Joss Whedon.

If you’re not raising your hand, there are a few things you need to do.
1.)    Read about Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along-Blog here and watch it here.
2.)    Check out Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, or Firefly.
3.)    Come back here.

Everybody raising their hand now? Good.

If you don’t know, Whedon had a new show on Fox last season called Dollhouse
starring Eliza Dushku. If you haven’t seen any of it, look it up online. Hulu has the last five episodes of the season, if you don’t mind missing out on the very beginning. In a nutshell, “Dollhouse” is about a secret organization called the Dollhouse in Los Angeles, that wipes people’s minds and turns them into blank slates known as Dolls. These Dolls can then be reprogrammed with any personality, to be rented out by any of the Dollhouse’s very wealthy clients. Aka, they’re very often used for sexy times. But that’s besides the point. Specifically, the show centers around the Doll Echo, played by Eliza Dushku, who from time to time glitches slightly and remembers things that should have been wiped clear. It also deals with the Dollhouse as a whole, and the FBI agent searching for the house.

Now, if you are familiar with Whedon, you know that Fox just adores canceling his shows. So it wasn’t even five minutes after the season finale before fans started shouting about petitions and annoying Fox into keeping the show. Now, I personally thought the call to arms was ridiculous. Fox hadn’t even mentioned dropping the show, and why would they? The show is awesome. But, after doing some more research on the potential threat, it turns out Dollhouse really does appear to be fighting for survival.

Now, will annoying the producers really do anything? Probably not.
But it occurs to me that I would be so incredibly annoyed with myself if the show ended up getting cancelled and I had done nothing about it. So consider this my personal, whole-hearted, if not somewhat cynical push to save what is probably the best show on T.V. I think my friend Alisa put it best in her own push:
“Dollhouse deserves a second season because of all the things it is NOT… it’s NOT a show about doctors, lawyers, wealthy housewives or whiny teenagers.”

So! Despite feeling like you probably don’t have a voice, you really do, and even if it’s just going to annoy them, you might as well try, right? Turns out, there’s a lot you can do!

Things you can do to help out Dollhouse:

  • Tweet! Spread the word! Blog about it! Tell people about Dollhouse and that it’s endangered. The more people that know, the more people can do.
  • Talk to Fox! Really! Even if we don’t keep it alive, at least Fox will know Dollhouse fans are the most annoying. You can Tweet at Fox Broadcasting about keeping Dollhouse by tweeting @FoxBroadcasting, simple as that. You can also email them at “askfox@fox.com” or leave a message for Peter Rice, the Chairman of Entertainment for Fox, at 310-369-3066.
  • Annoy people some more, and keep track of what’s going on! Follow @miraclelaurie on Twitter, google Dollhouse news, preorder the dvd. Make Fox know we’re interested in the series.
  • Check out this site.

So there you have it, kiddos! Listen, I have full faith that the show is coming back next season, with or without us. But it really can’t hurt to show our support for Whedon and the rest of the cast of Dollhouse, can it? Let’s do it, alright?
Cool.

By the way, I was finally convinced to talk about this on my blog by THIS interview with Nathan Fillion in which he talks about Dollhouse. However, I have to admit: The most impressive thing about this interview?

DR. HORRIBLE SEQUEL? WHAT? More research is necessary!

Plus– and I almost forgot about this– if you didn’t notice, there’s a poll on the right-hand side of the main page. I’ve decided I’d like to subscribe to a serial comic, and I was wondering if there was one comic in particular my readers, few as they may be, would like to get updates on. So, let me know, vote in the poll!

– Your Honored Host

3 Responses to Dollhouse, Comics, and Other Things. But Mostly Dollhouse

  1. Peter says:

    DUDE They totally signed on for another season, so it’ll at least be back next year as our time-killer.

    AWESOME.

  2. Diana Correia says:

    UPDATE!

  3. Isa Zisk says:

    Lots of Good information in your post, I bookmarked your blog post so I can visit again in the near future, All the Best

Leave a Reply

