Jeph Jacques’ “Questionable Content”

The impressive cast.

The impressive cast.

Oh goodness. Questionable Content. How terrified I am to discuss you, for fear that I simply will not do you justice.

Questionable Content is not only one of my all-time favorite webcomics, it is most definitely one of the most addicting. How addicting, you ask? Well, it is so addicting, that whenever the topic of webcomics comes up in conversation- and it does a lot- I always mention QC, and someone the group calls me a “pusher” and tells me to stop ruining people’s lives with webcomics. I don’t know how many people I’ve forced to sit at their computers every night waiting for the updates, but I have seen Peter sit at his computer at 11.50 hitting refresh every time the page loads in hope that the comic will be updated.

At this point you might be getting a little worried. I promise you, it’s not as bad as all that.

Questionable Content is drawn and written by Jeph Jacques. The comic began in 2003 and is still going strong at present. Since the beginning of the comic, Jeph’s art style and technique has gone through serious changes, with Jeph never too afraid to try out new things. His style has done nothing but consistently improve with each new change; and it’s been so fluid that to start at the beginning and read until the present makes it it impossible to pinpoint at which point his art style changed. (One more thing that makes me sing Jeph’s praises: he is always on time, if not early. New comics are almost always up between 11.00 and mid night, and you will never wake up on a weekday to find the comic’s not updated. If you check it religiously at midnight like my friends and I, this is a blessing.)

The comic centers around a medium-sized cast of characters. To say there are any main characters is really doing a disservice to all of the others, but I feel comfortable saying that most of the modern comics center around Marten, Faye, and Dora, though the comic starts off with primarily Marten and his robotic pet/friend Pint-Size, an anthro-pc and really the only fantastic part of the consistent storyline. (Pint-Size is also one of the most enjoyable and evil little buggers ever to grace comics). Other fun characters include Hannelore (one of my personal favorites), Raven, the long-lost Steve and Tai.

I find it hard deciding whether I should tell you about each of these characters, or simply encourage you to read the comic and find out for yourself. Because the characters and their interpersonal relationships are what make this comic so fantastic. Old ladies have Soap Operas. I have Questionable Content. I don’t know how many times I’ve had conversations discussing the newest update to the comic when I suddenly have to remind myself that the people I am discussing aren’t actually real. Usually this makes me feel a little uneasy about my own mental health and need for a life, but it also fills me with a sense of joy to think that this comic is so well put together that I can forget that what happens in it isn’t real.

This comic covers all the bases. It is generally a funny comic, usually split into four panels. But it’s not formulaic in that it usually isn’t just three panels of set up for a punchline on the fourth panel. There are usually several jokes in each update, making the entire comic fun to read each time. But I think it might be fair to say that if you don’t enjoy drama from time to time, this comic may not be for you. The first time I discovered QC, I stumbled upon it at a particularly dramatic point in Faye’s life. This put me off of the comic for quite a while, until I forgot about it and fell upon it again. This time I started at the beginning, and when I got to the drama I was so worked into the characters’ lives that I really wanted to see what was going on. When it’s not being too serious, though, the comic pokes fun at all sorts of issues, usually focusing on the indie-rock scene and music in general. This isn’t to say that it doesn’t joke about all aspects of life, though: from break ups to drinking to hypochondria and philosophy.

If there is only one webcomic that I can get you to read, I want it to be Questionable Content. I promise you, it will suck you in and never, ever let you go. I do not want to be around the day this comic dies.

Questionable Content

3 Responses to Jeph Jacques’ “Questionable Content”

  1. Olivia says:

    Zack!

    First of all, I think this is a great thing you’ve got going.

    You already know that I love Questionable Content, and I love all of our conversations that spawn from it. Who cares if we sound crazy to people who don’t read QC? Not me. =)

    Also, I really enjoy the diversity of the stuff you’ve posted. I didn’t know where you were going to go with this blog at first, but it’s definitely been a good read thus far.

  2. Alisa says:

    Hey dummy. Have you considered using this as your Honor’s Project?

  3. Kim says:

    Zack,
    Very impressed!
    Kim

Leave a Reply

