Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog

300drhorrible

When I was first told about Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, I was skeptical. A musical about an evil super villain? I mean. Okay. Supervillains are awesome. And musicals can be okay (although I still can’t believe I was lucky enough to see Evil Dead: The Musical, which was absolutely amazing). I had heard one or two songs from the soundtrack before and found it easily to write off and forget about.

But leave it Peter to show me the error of my ways and force me to sit down and watch it.

Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog is a musical split into three acts and available for free online. It chronicles the exploits of Dr. Horrible (Neil Patrick Harris) as he tries to become an official member of the Evil League of Evil and in the mean time tries to work up the courage to talk to the girl of his dreams he sees every week at the Laundromat. He also has to deal with his jackass arch-nemesis, Captain Hammer (Nathan Fillion), who continues to thwart his plots.

From the beginning the show had me cracking up. All of the little things make this movie fantastic, from Dr. Horrible’s face as he reads off fanmail to Bad Horse’s (the Leader of the Evil League of Evil) messengers, or Dr. Horrible’s henchmen slash roommate Moist- “At my most badass I can make people want to take a shower”.

The film starts off a bit slow, but quickly speeds up as you’re introduced to Dr. Horrible, Penny, and Captain Hammer. The story perfectly creates a truly loveable supervillian and a hero you can hate, all the while keeping the comedy up. Just the character interactions are superb. And of course the acting is great, as would be expected from the cast.

But what really surprised me was how much I loved the music. Usually, when I watch a musical, I get a sense of dread every time the music begins to crescendo and I feel the characters about to break out into song. With this, however, it always found myself grinning in anticipation. The music is not only funny and entertaining, but genuinely good. The work that went into writing this music must have been immense. “My Eyes”, a duet with Dr. Horrible and Penny, is so seamlessly put together that you wonder how it could have been written. “Brand New Day” is probably my favorite song on the soundtrack, with the terrifying “Slipping” coming in a close second. The idea of loving the soundtrack to a musical is rather new to me, but the music in Dr. Horrible is just that good.

Do yourself a favor, and when you have 45 minutes to waste check out Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog. You will be completely enthralled from goofy beginning to jaw-dropping end.

Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog

2 Responses to Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog

  1. Kaylena says:

    woody. I friggin love dr. horrible’s sing a long blog, and have since this summer when it first came out. Plus, I didn’t know you had graphic novel/webcomic thinger. Good for you! I just started reading alien loves predator which is altogether ridiculous but for some reason, kind of addicting? Check it out, see what you think.

  2. zwood says:

    Heyy. Yes, is here. And Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog is fantastic.

    Also, I used to read Alien Loves Predator when it first came out, but once it went on hiatus I stopped bothering to check in. I hear it’s recently been taken off hiatus, but I haven’t checked to see if the new stuff is as good as the old.

Leave a Reply

